Skip to content

Milk Paint Recipe

January 20, 2014

Steve Tomlin Crafts

Blue spindle back dining chair

I’m a big fan of painted woodenware and have been experimenting for a while now with different recipes of homemade paint. The egg based tempera I used on my spindleback chair was lovely but takes several weeks to dry properly so I’ve been researching making milk paint. This is a soft paint that covers well and ages beautifully as the paint wears and develops a patina. Milk paint was traditionally made by souring the milk to separate out the curds which make the base for the paint however I’ve been looking for a simpler alternative which is easy to make up in small quantities. In the US powdered milk paint is available in various colours which are simply mixed up with water and this is what I want for my own work. I can then make up a dry batch with the colour I want and then mix up just…

View original post 299 more words

From → DIY, Handy Tips, Homemade

5 Comments
  1. What a nice tip. Thank you.
    Good seeing a post from you again….
    Gisela

    • Thank you! I’ve been busy. This is a good season to update my blogs. Thanks so much for reading!

  2. How cool is that! I had no idea.

  3. John permalink

    Has anyone tried this recipe? And what can one use for a pigment? Just curious…Thanks

    • I do not know anyone personally who has tried this. I will be doing so later this spring. I’ll let you know how well it works. Thanks for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

