Skip to content

Freeze/Frost Probability Tables for Each State

February 6, 2014

Planting-SeedsIt’s that time of the year again. I’ve been getting seed catalogs in the mail and I’ve downloaded a few from seed company websites. If you are anything like me, you are just itching to plant something, ANYTHING.

I’ve had Sage, New Mexico Chili, and Jalapeno Peppers growing inside since last fall. In Charleston South Carolina that means they have really only been indoors since late November when it started to get cold. Here it is the beginning of February and I’ve been putting my plants outside for a little sunshine. Yesterday we had a gentle rain. I danced in it. It was 74 degrees here! Oh how I adore living in the South!

My living room has become a seedling nursery and I have been wondering when I may put everything outside permanently, or at least until the next fall.

Embedded in this post is a link to the USA National Climatic Data Center.

“Given are the dates of probable first and last occurrence, during the year beginning August 1 and ending July 31 of freeze related temperatures, probable duration where the temperature exceeds certain freeze related values; and the probability of experiencing a given temperature, or less, during the year period August 1 through July 31. For the fall and spring dates of occurrence, and freeze-free period, probabilities are given for three temperatures (36, 32, and 28 °f) at three probability levels (10, 50, and 90 percent).”

http://cdo.ncdc.noaa.gov/cgi-bin/climatenormals/climatenormals.pl?directive=prod_select2&prodtype=CLIM2001&subrnum%20to%20Freeze/Frost%20Data%20from%20the%20U.S.%20Climate%20Normals

I saw my dates, I have a list of when I should start my seeds according to plant variety, and all of the necessary supplies are ready. Today I start my first veggie seeds and I am so excited!

 

Happy Planting Ya’ll J

From → Food, Gardening

2 Comments
  1. Such an exciting time of year!

  2. Viva la seeds!

Leave a Reply

